Friday, March 7, 2014

[Book Review] Uninvited by Sophie Jordan

Summary (from Goodreads):
The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.

Author: Sophie Jordan

Series: Uninvited #1

Edition: Hardcover

Pages: 384

Genres: Young Adult, Science Fiction, Dystopian

Published: January 28, 2014 by HarperTeen

Reading Level: Teens 

So, it a given that anything Sophie Jordan writes, I’m going to read. It’s an even bigger given that if it’s a YA book, I’m going to start reading it after I’ve bought it and in the car on the way home. 

I hate to admit this, but I’m not a fan of dystopian books (and by fan I mean it’s not my favorite genre because I’ve found myself liking a couple of them). So, when I heard Sophie Jordan was going to write one, I didn’t know how to feel about it because I knew it would be an awesome book if her name was attached to it.
Uninvited ended up being one of my favorite “dystopian” books that I’ve read. During her book launch party, Sophie Jordan referred to it as not being dystopian, but more pre-dystopian. That’s the perfect way to describe it. While it is in the future, it’s not too far off. 
I always like books that are set in Texas. Call it my weird way of relating to the book or whatever. I was 100% fine with it until half way into the book. 
“A ____ _______. At a mall and stadium in Houston.” 
Without giving away too much of the book, I’ll say that THAT was the sentence that made me close the book just for a little bit. The situation hit close to home. I got chills reading it. That just goes to say how good Sophie Jordan’s writing is.     

In the beginning, even before the reader find out about Davy’s “kill gene” the reader learns about her plans for her future. It almost felt like Sophie Jordan could have written a book about Davy without the kill gene and just going off to college and that would have been a good book too. She does it so well that when all her dreams start falling apart because of her newly discovered kill gene, I actually sorry for this person that didn’t really exist. 
I starting the book liking Davy’s relationship with Tori. Davy’s best friend seemed to be jealous of her spending so much time with her boyfriend. I liked where that was going. However, that changes very fast. 
I loved Davy’s relationship with her brother, Mitchell. There seemed to be an unconditional love between them that sometimes lighten the mood when things were dark with the rest of her family. 
I also loved Davy and Gil’s relationship. It was genuine from the very start and it’s obvious that they care a lot about each other. 

For a majority of the book, there isn’t really the lovey dovey romance. If you’re looking for a book where the characters are going to spend a lot of the time making out and telling each other how much they love one another, this isn’t it. However, if you’re looking for a book where there is lots of getting to know about one another as schoolmates/friends and dare I say sexual tension, this is perfect for you.
I’ll give you a *little* spoiler and how I reacted when I read it. When the two main characters finally do kiss, my sister just happened to be telling me something. I was so caught up in what was going on in the book, that I told her if she could please tell me once I finished the chapter. Luckily, as an extreme reader herself, she understood.  

Creative Way of Writing: 
It was the writing that really stuck out for me. 
Sophie Jordan has a way of writing that makes me want to continue reading. Usually, I pick up a book and it’ll take me about a month to read it cause well, I’m lazy at reading. The first night after I bought the book, I found myself on page 80 or so. I believe (and if I’m wrong and it was another author that said it, oops) Sophie Jordan once said that she likes when readers take their time to read her books. At the rate I was going, I knew I was going to finish fast. So, I had to put the book down for a couple of days. Then pick it back up. Put it down. That was pretty much how I went about it. 
I can’t really tell you what *exactly* it is about Sophie Jordan’s writing that is very fast paced about it. I guess you’re just going to have to find out for yourself. 


Follow me on Twitter..

Follow me on Instagram.

Follow Sophie Jordan on Twitter.

No comments:

Post a Comment